"NH Debates" Adds Support Of Key Leaders In Call To Add NH Debates

New Hampshire Debates

Senate and House Democratic Leaders Join the Call for an Additional New Hampshire Debate; Press Conference Wednesday

CONCORD, NH – Senate Democratic Leader Jeff Woodburn and House Democratic Leader Steve Shurtleff have joined the 120-member New Hampshire Debates coalition working to facilitate an additional Democratic presidential debate before the February 9th New Hampshire Primary.

Sen. Woodburn and Rep. Shurtleff join nearly three dozen other current legislators who believe New Hampshire voters would benefit from a prime time debate at the height of voters’ attention.  The sole New Hampshire debate is currently scheduled for the Saturday night before Christmas; a suboptimal time slot.

The news of additional legislators and activists signing on to New Hampshire Debates comes as the group is gearing up for  a press conference to discuss a recent meeting with NH1 and the importance of a debate between the Iowa Caucus and the New Hampshire Primary. The press conference will be at 11:45 AM on Wednesday, November 4 in the lobby of the Legislative Office Building in Concord.

New Hampshire Debates consists of current and former elected officials, town and county democratic leaders, democratic activists, supporters of all three presidential campaigns and undecided leaders who believe strongly that the Primary tradition of free and open debate transcends any one presidential campaign. The coalition has been meeting with media, non-profit organizations, and private and public educational and civic institutions to secure at least one additional debate before the New Hampshire Primary.

The Members of New Hampshire Debates include:

Rep. Michael Abbott

David Allen

Rep. Susan Almy

Jeffery Ballard

Dean Barker

Hon. Mo Baxley

Raj Bhattacharya

Hon. Peter Burling

Dan Calegari

Bernadette Cameron

Beth Campbell

Hon. Lorrie Carey

Hon. Byron Champlin

Rep. Cynthia Chase

Rep. Jackie Cilley

Sen. Martha Fuller Clark

Hon. Burt Cohen

Rep. John Cloutier

Rep. Renny Cushing

Sen. Lou D’Allesandro

Robert Dietel

Clara Dietel

Hon. Dudley Dudley

Gerald Dyer

Rep. Dan Eaton

Lucy Edwards

Hon. Eileen Ehlers

Robert Ehlers

Brent Erstad

Lew Feldstein

Nathan Fennessey

Rep. Sue Ford

Rep. June Frazer

Stan Freeda

Caroline French

Hon. Sylvia Gale

Rep. Jeff Goley

Irvin Gordon

Rep. Sue Gottling

Hon. Martin L. Gross

Ronna Hamelin

Rachel Hampe

Matthew Hancock

Dr. Travis Harker

John Hattan

Zandra Rice-Hawkins

Ann Heffernon

Mary Heslin

Rep. Patricia Higgins

Rep. Timothy Horrigan

Rep. Virginia Irwin

Sen. Andrew Hosmer

Rep. Marty Jack

Hon. Harold Janeway

Rep. Gladys Johnsen

Don Jorgensen

Ed Kaplan

Brian Keaney

Janice Kelbe

Ben Kelley

Karina Kelley

Quinn Kelley

Eric Tolbert Kilchenstein

Rob Lanney

Jonathan Lax

Kyle Leach

Rep. Peter Leishman

Derek Lick

Rep. Pat Long

Hon. Maureen Mann

Rep. Marcia Moody

Kathy Muirhead

Prof. Russ Muirhead

Rep. Mel Myler

James Owers

Linda Paquette

Chia-Huei Parker

David Parker

Hon. Norman Patenaude

Rep. Marjorie Porter

Shana Potvin

Hon. Brian Rapp

Rep. Mario Ratzki

John Rauh

Mary Rauh

Alan Reische

Joan Reische

Hon. Gary Richardson

Ken Roos

Jim Rosenberg

Rep. George Saunderson

Atlant Schmidt

Hon. Jan Schmidt

Rep. Dianne Schuett

Brian Shea

Rep. Steve Shurtleff

Jayme Simoes

Laura Simoes

Dr. Bill Siroty

Rep. Marjorie Smith

Robert Spiegelman

Lynne Starry

Bill Stelling

Tom St. Martin

Jay Surdukowski

Rep. George Sykes

Jim Tetreault

AnnMarie Timmins

Ken Traum

William Tucker

Michael Veilleux

Donna Veilleux

Sen. David Watters

Rep. Lucy Weber

Dan Weeks

Sindiso Mnisi Weeks

Pat Wilczynski

Sen. Jeff Woodburn

Ann Wright
Josh Wyatt